Posted by: Jerry Garrett | May 18, 2017

Driving My Mercedes To Italy – Day 6

fullsizeoutput_1979

Last time I saw my Mercedes was April 11, when it was being loaded for shipping.

Last time I saw my Mercedes was April 11, when it was being loaded for shipping.

MANZANILLO, Mexico

The Duesseldorf Express cargo ship left port here yesterday at 19:36 UTC, after a stay of about 28 hours.

The ship, carrying my “containerized” 1973 Mercedes-Benz 450 SL to me for pick up in Italy, arrived here about 13 hours behind schedule, after leaving the port of Los Angeles on May 13.

The Duesseldorf Express’ next stop is the Panama Canal on May 23. Its scheduled arrival has been set back three hours to 18:00 UTC. So apparently there is some calculation almost all of the delay in and out of Manzanillo can be made up over the next 1,400-nautical-mile leg of the 7,800+ nautical mile journey.

Each day, it seems I receive some new paperwork related to the voyage: confirmation of loading, confirmation of departure, confirmation of arrival, customs notifications, etc.

The latest notification includes a “container number” that the Mercedes is supposedly loaded in. And I noticed the website of Hapag-Lloyd, the shipping company that operates the Duesseldorf Express, offers a search feature by container number.

So I entered the container number and got back a message “Container for Container Number given not found.” Hmmm. What’s up with that?

More checking is needed. I’ll try to have more information tomorrow. Hope I’m not tracking the wrong ship.

Jerry Garrett

May 18, 2017

Responses

  1. Such a thrilling adventure. I am glad to aware that not unpunctuality isn’t only an Italian feature.

    • Thanks. I was hoping the Mercedes would arrive in time to follow the Mille Miglia around Italy this week. But I missed that 1000-miler by a mile (or actually about 7,000 miles). At 11 m.p.g. fuel economy from the Mercedes, however, that would have been a pretty pricey endeavor!


Leave a Reply

Categories

